Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter History

“Then there were two,” was the caption accompanied by a chapter photo, from the Louisiana Weekly newspaper dated June 30, 1984 noting the chartering of a second chapter in the greater New Orleans area. The first general meeting of the interest group was held on May 20, 1983 at the home of Renae Ruffin. The meeting was held to present information to members interested in establishing a second chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated in the New Orleans area. Members present at the meeting were Mechelle Millet, Cynthia Sims, Alida Perez, Marvel Robertson, Brenda Brock Williams, Vera Bailey, Ramel Fields, Lillian Rayford and Renae Ruffin.

Approximately one year later, the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was chartered June 16th of 1984 in New Orleans, Louisiana on the recommendation of Regional Director Mamie L. McKnight and with the approval of Supreme Basileus Faye B. Bryant. The 33 chartering members were: Vera W. Bailey, Carlene Augustine Barthe, Rebecca Bell, Donnye L. Brady, Manya P. Carter, Ann Coxen Mitchell, Veronica Downs, Terez Dunning-Jackson, Ramel L. Fields, Marica Galatas, Karen Farris Gavins, Jackie L. Gorman, Kathleen Mary Hall, Constance Abraham-Handy, Sandra Harrington, Patricia Hightower, G. Yvonne Jackson, Edith G. Jones, Gail Lewis, Valerie Logan, Michelle DeJoie-Manning, Shelia Mason, Kathleen McKinney-Franks, Kim Miguel, Mechelle Millet, Claire Mortimer,  Alida Perez, Pamela Pollard, Lillian Rayford, Marvel Robertson, Ranae Ruffin, Cynthia Simms,  and Brenda Williams. The chapter has flourished to become a group of women who provide service to the citizens of the greater New Orleans area.

Omicron Lambda Omega has received recognition on the local, regional and corporate level. This outstanding chapter has gained accolades for Outstanding Neophyte, Ivy AKAdemy Community Service, Outstanding Basileus, Graduate Good Citizenship, Connection Activities, EAF Participation, Excellence in Connections, and Excellence in Education.  Community service has always been at the forefront of Omicron Lambda Omega Chapters agenda. Signature programs have included STAIRS Reading initiative, Partnership with the Awesome Girls Mentoring Program, Leah B. Gordon Scholarship,  Pearls of Pride and Promise Cotillion, Adopt a Family, HIV-Aids Awareness, MLK Day of Service, Black Entrepreneur Focus, UNCF Walk-a-thon, Breast Cancer Walk,  and more recently the Emerging Young Leaders Partnership with Hope Academy Middle Alternative Schools Lionettes, and Global Healthcare initiatives.

Chapter Presidents

  • Lillian Rayford (1986)
  • Donnye Brady (1987-1988)
  • Ann C. Mitchell (1989-1992)
  • Manya Louis (1993-1994)
  • Cassandra Bartholomew (1995-1996)
  • Yolonda W. Prevost (1997-2000)
  • Ada Simmons (2001-2002)
  • Currita Waddy (2003-2004)
  • Karen Henley (2005-2006)
  • Jaquetta Davis (2007-2008)
  • Kathleen McKinney-Franks (2009-2010)
  • Neshelle S. Nogess (2011-2012)
  • Lanette E. Rousseve (2013-2014)
  • Kathy C. Saloy (2015-2016)
  • Michaela King (2017-2018)