National History of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. is the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African American college-trained women. The sorority was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, DC on January 15, 1908.  Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority became an incorporated body in 1913.

Led by Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority’s founders were leaders committed to high scholastic and ethical standards, sisterhood, and service.  The founders of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated are:

The Original Group

  • Ethel Hedgeman Lyle
  • Anna Easter Brown
  • Beulah E. Burke
  • Lillian Burke
  • Margaret Flagg Holmes
  • Marjorie Hill
  • Lavinia Norman
  • Lucy Diggs Slowe
  • Marie Woolfolk Taylor

The Sophomores

  • Joanna Berry Shields
  • Norma E. Boyd
  • Ethel Jones Mowbray
  • Sarah Merriwether
  • Alice P. Murray
  • Carrie E. Snowden
  • Harriet J. Terry

The Incorporators

  • Norma E. Boyd
  • Julia Brooks
  • Ethel Jones Mowbray
  • Nellie Quander
  • Nellie Pratt Russell
  • Minnie Smith

For more information on the historical milestones of Alpha Kappa Alpha, Sorority, Inc., please visit the sorority’s international website at or our regional website at